Saturday, 16 March 2013

Time out

Nothing motivates you to take up extra exercise than your weight, God-like looking boyfriend and awesome sportswear to put on.
Now I've got all listed reasons not to make any more excuses. :c




Nike Time Out pants #452822

Nike Time Out Tempo shorts #456521




Now it's only the matter of getting these. LOL no, not enough time for that!

Improving an average weekend

This weekend isn't one of the best- anatomy test on Monday, my boyfriend went out of town, no time for friends, well, nothing exciting, so to say. To make my heartbeat go faster I went for iPad hunting with my mum and came back with (almost) nothing. It's pretty much impossible to find whatever you're looking for in this city- either it's not available now or ever.

To cheer up, we went to another shopping center looking for a few specific items. I couldn't believe how hard it is to find a BELT. A simple leather belt. Don't even try looking for it in women's department. I guess that designers think a belt must be bling bling all over and the more sparkling shit, the better the belt looks. Also, forget about genuine leather. There's absolutely no business in selling product which will remain good condition for years, it's better to make the customers to come back and buy new ones every 4 months. It was quite a challenge but I finally found some. Even 2 of them.

Finding 2 pairs of marvelous trousers on sale in H&M also widened my smile on which I can put Chanel lip gloss now. Lovely! Now I can ruin my weekend with studying.







Oh, and I started my day off with getting my nails done. Routine, routine...

Saturday, 2 March 2013

C'est chic!



Baby wearing pink lipstick: this is when you lose sight of your little miss
and forget your lipstick fell on the floor. Cutie!

How do I motivate myself

I'm one of those people who are really hard to be motivated. It must be one of "to be or not to be" situations to make me actually sit down and study. Sounds familiar...?

But once I got a reason to study (like f. ex. a threat of getting expelled from uni, huehuehuehu), I SIT and STUDY. After an hour or two I'm usually done. I'm clever but incredibly lazy fucker.

Getting to know myself for last exciting almost 20 years I found some little things that make me almost willing to study:

1. NEW NOTEBOOKS.
My handwriting is really beautiful, I guess 3-4 centuries ago I could have become a calligrapher. Starting a new notebook makes me try even harder, so my notes look as if taken by someone actually paying attention during lecture or almost giving a fuck about their grades. Oh, sweet irony...

2. NEW BOOKS.
They just smell brilliant. I love the smell of new books, but who doesn't? Recently I bought some professional  veterinary books I fell in love with. It's the right word, love. Once I get them into my hands, I can't let them out until I go trough them, appreciating each page. Almost like studying!



3. COLORFUL MARKERS.

 I wish I owned Stabilo factory. Pink, yellow, orange, green, purple, blue... Whoooa, so much fun while taking notes or reading them, one of the actual reason I even use my notes.




4. MY FAVOURITE PENS.
Stabilo, of course. I'm a little OCD and I need all of my pens to be black and the same type. I've been using these ones for years. I'd rather not take any notes than taking them with any other pen. Might cause a trouble when I forgot one of mines but there's always extra one attached to my Filofax and in my friend's bag so that I don't have any more excuses not to be writing.






5. CLEANING MY ROOM
Like a boss. I need lots of free space around me to even think about getting to work. I enjoy cleaning a lot (upcoming perfect housewife here!) so it kind of goes together. Yayy.

6. LITTLE STICK NOTES.
So adorable. Once I put some notes on them and stuck on the side of a page, they cheer me up while reading. They make you remember of what you have already read and which section you went through. Many shapes, many colours! Call it gay or childish but that's what I like!





Any tips from you? :)

Tuesday, 12 February 2013

Les Misérables

Les Misérables- "lay-mizer-aab-l", or if you don't speak French, just call it "Les Mis" (lay-miz). 
Comes in handy when you don't want to embarrass yourself, like me... 

Screening of a Victor Hugo masterpiece. To some a rape, to some another form of this timeless masterpiece. 


I had many hopes and expectations when it comes to the movie. I saw the play in a theater and, uhm, it was absolutely unsatisfying. We all do know some of the songs from this musical (even if you're not fully aware of it, I mean, we've all heard about Susan Boyle? Remember the song she sung in the casting? That's right.), we kind of know the plot but there's still more to understand. I just didn't. So sad.

Buuuuuuuuuuuuuuut... Then there was the film released! Thank God. I just LOVED it! It couldn't be  produced any better I think. Let me point out the strong curiosity due to many interviews made with Anne Hathaway (Fantine) in which she claimed her will to win Oscar for her role in "Les Mis". While watching scenes she played in I kept on thinging whether she really should be awarded with the prize... Yes- the breathtaking scene of her singing "I Dreamed a Dream" (yup, Susan Boyle) almost made me shed a tear, and there's "no" as well- she appears not for that long during the whole film. Those who agree say that it's Russel Crowe (Javert) who should be awarded (again- he won Oscar in 2001 for his role in "Gladiator"), when it comes to this film's cast. There was never a case where a single song performance catapulted an actress as a frontrunner to the Best Supporting Actress Oscar, since Jenifer Hudson singing "And I'm telling you..." The characters I enjoyed the most were the Thenardiers, played by my beloved Helena Bonham Carter and Sasha Baron Cohen (is that his real-real accent? please, no!). I heard an opinion that they're fan's natural favorites   That's true, indeed. However, Cosette (Amanda Sayfried), who causes all the trouble, is no one's favorite, but her rival is- here I mean Eponine, who get's friendzoned by Marcus, who is falling for Cosette... So high-school-like before there was high school.

Because of its' religious overtones, this film has zero chance of winning Best Picture, which kind of makes me sad, but there was no way to change the script from it's original into non-religious one, it would simply kill it.

Sadness, sadness all the time. :'(

Oh no, wait! There are some hot guys to make the movie even more interesting. And OMG, Hugh Jackman, omnomnom. 

What I need to mention is that about 90% of the audience consisted of people aged over 40, I think there was only one couple and me "under age". God, why? Are young people afraid of musicals? Don't get it.

Here I present you some treasures dug out while browsing 9Gag, hope it will make you smile just a little! 




Wednesday, 28 November 2012

Muse- The 2nd Law



I am an absolute Muse fan and I love them implicitly and infinitely- they could release some total tosh and I'd still be crazy about it. Isn't that a reason to assume my point of view is biased...?





After listening to Muse's pieces for about 7 years, I can easily tell the difference between each of the album. Focusing on the Album Six, The 2nd Law, Muse brings a whole new value. Bellamy jokingly described the album as a "christian gangsta rap jazz odyssey, with some ambient rebellious dubstep and face-melting metal flamenco cowboy psychedelia" on his Twitter account. Well, he didn't exaggerate. 


Themes that became an inspiration while creating it were the global  economic collapse, climate change and the laws of thermodynamics- specifically, as per album title, the second law- one that says no system can grow without energy coming into it. In media there's that constant talk of growth and it seems like we're in denial of the obvious fact that we're actually hitting the ceiling now. On the other hand, it requires the strength of society and this is what is almost celebrated in certain song, such as Survival. But right now you can really see that we're facing the collapse of it all- we seem always to go in contrary to the laws of science. But aren't Muse themselves symptomatic of man's expansionist logic? Bigger, broader, more insane? Yes, and in fact, that's kind of what Muse  is expressing with the whole album.


Track list:



  • Supremacy


  • Madness
the second single; according to NME, features influences which draw from Queen's "I Want to Break Free" and David Bowie's "Scary Monsters and Super Creeps" album
  • Panic Station
Prince-ly '80s funk, complete with slap bass, horns, but a riff akin to INXS's Suicide Blonde; parts of the track resemble soundtrack extracts from a Matrix-style sci-fi movie blockbuster


  • Prelude
  • Survival
was the first album's single and served as the official song of the London 2012 Olympics Games; marks a whole new outer limit of in Muse's career of extremes with its Bohemian Rhapsody-style mega-rock explosions and apocalyptic Dies Irae choral daftness.The climax, where Bellamy hits an eye-watering falsetto peak, is almost a comedy moment (even to the man who sang it!)
  • Follow Me
Matt Bellamy stated that the song was written about his newborn son, Bingham. And the beat you can hear in the background is Bing's actual heartbeat! Sooo sweet of Matt *-* 


  • Animals
  • Explorers
  • Big Freeze
  • Save Me
  • Liquid State
Both Save Me and Liquid State were written and sung by Chris Wolstenholme; these two are telling the story of Chris' battle with alcoholism- pointedly entitled...
  • The 2nd Law: Unsustainable
Perfect concert opening (checked live). Gives a bit of an adrenaline rush with its, so to call, dubstep-guitar-made sounds; it was stated that dubstep producer Skrillex was and influence when writing it;

 In this track the second law of thermodynamics is quoted, as follows:



"All natural and technological processes proceed in such a way that the availability of the remaining energy decreases. In all energy exchanges, if no energy enters or leaves an isolated system, the entropy of that system increases. Energy continuously flows from being concentrated, to becoming dispersed, spread out, wasted, and useless. New energy cannot be created and high-grade energy is being destroyed."
  • The 2nd Law: Isolated System



I thought they can't get any more disco-metal-opera-drama after "Resistance" but... Well, Muse, you keep on surprising me, I just can't get bored with new releases!

The Watch

Ok, just avoid it. Nothing valuable about it. Poor plot, poor acting, poor jokes (gawd, it hurts!), not even mentioning the alien costumes. Agony lasts exactly 1 hour 42 minutes- just as much as you might need to clean up your room, prepare a meal and walk your dog. And so just to think how widely promoted it was in the UK... I mean, bitch, please.


BEWARE.